Trunk between SRW2048

Linksys, Netgear, ect. Webbase configurations for switches or layer 2 devices.
Guest

Trunk between SRW2048

Post by Guest » Fri May 07, 2010 9:50 am

Hi all,     I need to set a trunk between two SRW2048 connected over a fiber link, in order to let a vlan to be shared among them.  My configuration is:  switch A: - default untagged VLAN 1 - custom VLAN ID 10, named "wifi" - port 47=> fiber, set as "trunk", both Vlan 1 and 10 are joined with the trunk - port 11: I want it on VLAN 10, in order to see the port 11 on switch B    switch A: - default untagged VLAN 1 - custom VLAN ID 10, named "wifi" - port 48=> fiber, set as "trunk", both Vlan 1 and 10 are joined with the trunk - port 11: I want it on VLAN 10, in order to see the port 11 on switch A  I tried to set both port 11 in "general" mode, tagged, joined only to VLAN 10, but I couldn link them over the fiber. I tried many configurations for both port 11, but they doesn work. I think that fiber port 48 and 47 configurations are ok.  I hope you can help me  Thanks Alessandro    Note: - yesterday I updated both firmwares to 1.2.2d; after that I have a error saving setting of "VLAN to Ports" on both switches. I check all the settings; they seems ok, but that page and only that give this error:   Line No. = 1   Error Type = null   Value = Unknown value   Diagnostic = Might be missing parameters (join1)  in page.  - I turned on the "Enable 802.1x" flag on "Security"=>"802.1x Settings"  - I don use GVRP; when I join the port to VLAN it give me some "web" error on IE version 6 and 8 and Im not able to join ports to vlan. Moreover I can see the custom VLAN among switches only if I attach somethings to the ports 11 (I use a dhcp server on one port, and a dhcp client on the other one).

Guest

Re:Trunk between SRW2048

Post by Guest » Fri May 07, 2010 10:23 am

Sorry, I repost it  Hi all,    I need to set a trunk between two SRW2048 connected over a fiber link, in order to let a vlan to be shared among them. My configuration is: switch A:- default untagged VLAN 1- custom VLAN ID 10, named "wifi"- port 47=> fiber, set as "trunk", both Vlan 1 and 10 are joined with the trunk- port 11: I want it on VLAN 10, in order to see the port 11 on switch B switch A:- default untagged VLAN 1- custom VLAN ID 10, named "wifi"- port 48=> fiber, set as "trunk", both Vlan 1 and 10 are joined with the trunk- port 11: I want it on VLAN 10, in order to see the port 11 on switch A I tried to set both port 11 in "general" mode, tagged, joined only to VLAN 10, but I couldn link them over the fiber.I tried many configurations for both port 11, but they didn work. I think that fiber ports 48 and 47 configurations are ok. I hope you can help me ThanksAlessandro Note:- yesterday I updated both firmwares to 1.2.2d; after that I have a error saving setting of "VLAN to Ports" on both switches. I check all the settings; they seems ok, but that page (and only that) give this error:  Line No. = 1  Error Type = null  Value = Unknown value  Diagnostic = Might be missing parameters (join1)  in page. - I turned on the "Enable 802.1x" flag on "Security"=>"802.1x Settings" - I don use GVRP; when I join the port to VLAN it give me some "web" error on IE version 6 and 8 and Im not able to join ports to vlan. Moreover I can see the custom VLAN among switches only if I attach somethings to the ports 11 (I use a dhcp server on one port, and a dhcp client on the other one).

Guest

Re:Trunk between SRW2048

Post by Guest » Fri May 07, 2010 10:50 am

I just struggled with this today myself. This is what I had to do to get VLANs on the trunk ports between SRW2048 and an SLM2024. Making the port numbers up but you get the idea. SRW2048 Port 1-12 = VLAN 1Port 13-15 = VLAN 3, untagged , mode=general, accept frame type = all, pvid 3Port 40-43 = VLAN 2, untagged , mode=general, accept frame type = all, pvid 2Port 47/48 = VLAN1,2,3 vlans to port = Trunk port should have vlan1,2,3 joined make sure it is tagged for 2,3 ( double check this, I am 100% i added them and when i checked again they were gone. I think making changes to other settings will remove them?)  SLM20241-10 = VLAN 114 = VLAN 3 , untagged,mode=general, accept frame type = all, pvid 316-18 = VLAN 2, untagged,mode=general, accept frame type = alll, pvid 2 Port 12 (Trunk Port) Add VLAN 1,2,3 with tagged 2,3  Setup like this I could access all three VLAN over the trunk.

Guest

Re:Trunk between SRW2048

Post by Guest » Fri May 07, 2010 12:11 pm

Thanks!Now it works like a sharm! Alessandro

Post Reply